首页
7070彩票US SQUASH
7070彩票

Call of the Week

Watch the rally and make the call with the US Squash Call of the Week officiating series. Enter your votes below to test your knowledge of the rules. Tune into on twitter every Friday to vote on the newest clip before the decision is revealed on Saturday.

Call of the Week 5.29.20

What is your call?
108 votes
Call of the Week 5.29.20 Answer & Explanation

This example gives us some specific things to look for when interference occurs. Watch as El Torky hits a good shot, it goes down the right hand wall and she moves immediately to her left as opposed to going towards the T. Then watch Gohar move forward towards her opponent instead of towards the ball when there is ample space for her to go through and play the shot. The rule we are looking at is that if the striker has direct access but instead took an indirect line to the ball and then requested a let for interference a no let is allowed. The decision here is No Let.

 

 

Call of the Week 5.21.20

What is your call?
182 votes
Call of the Week 5.21.20 Answer & Explanation

This call is important as it comes late in the match at 9-6 in the 5thgame although that should not impact any decisions. In this example, we need to determine why play stopped and if a penalty should be applied. From the back it appears that El Shorbagy has cleared out of the way and that there is enough space for Dessouky to hit the ball. However, the overhead angle gives another view that helps us to make the decision. El Shorbagy is hitting the ball towards the middle of the court and Dessouky is impeded in his ability to move forward. Because of El Shorbagy’s movement Dessouky is unable to hit the ball and therefore a Stroke decision is given.

 

 

 

Call of the Week 5.15.20

What is your call?
193 votes
Call of the Week 5.15.20 Answer & Explanation

At the professional level a lot of emphasis is put on minimizing stoppages allowing play to be continuous. Sometimes decisions are made to encourage players to play through interference. According to the rules minimal interference is such that it does not prevent the striker from seeing or getting to the ball to make a good return and a no let is allowed. When we look at the overhead here we are going to see two things. There is slight contact but there is ample space to hit the ball. Therefore, we want to encourage El Sherbini to go through and continue the rally. Hence a No Let is the decision.

 

 

Doubles Call of the Week 5.11.20

What is your call?
121 votes
Doubles Call of the Week 5.11.20 Answer & Explanation

Clearing in hardball doubles can be challenging. The ball is faster than singles and a player has to worry about two opponents instead of one. In this example, Nathan Dugan on the right wall in black plays a shot back towards himself. Although he has cleared to the side wall enough to for a ball to be played to the front wall, he has not done so quickly enough to all his opponent Mark Price to take a safe swing. Therefore, the call is point for the team in white.

 

 

Call of the Week 5.8.20

What is your call?
214 votes
Call of the Week 5.8.20 Answer & Explanation

This clip highlights two principles on which the rules are based – safety and fair play. As an official sometimes things happen that are out of the ordinary on the court. In this case we must deal with both players positions on the court at the end of the rally but we must also account for the state of Gaultier’s racket and the condition that it is in. Listen to the sound of the strings breaking and to the reaction of the commentators of SquashTV.
In the end the question becomes – which is more important, the application of the rules or the foundation in which they are based? In this case the decision is a Let as it represents a fair outcome of the rally and is in the spirit in which the game is played.

 

Call of the Week 5.1.20

What is your call?
289 votes
Call of the Week 5.1.20 Answer & Explanation
This point shows the importance of the video referee in the professional game, especially when the game is on the line. As play develops Golan (in black) is stretching his opponent from corner to corner. The rule being reviewed is that even though there is interference, Soliman (in yellow) must still be able to make a good return. Look carefully at where the ball bounces both on the first and second bounce. Soliman would not have been able to make a good return and therefore the decision is no let.

 

Call of the Week 4.24.20

What is your call?
345 votes
Call of the Week 4.24.20 Answer & Explanation
YES LET
This point focuses on the outgoing player after they strike the ball. After a player hits the ball, they must provide access to their opponent. In this clip, El Shorbagy hits the ball to the front and Farag moves to the side of him to return. El Shorbagy then moves to the center and he hits the ball and holds his position firmly – setting his right foot in the path of Farag –  and does not attempt to clear. This causes contact with his opponent who is trying to get to the ball on what would have been a difficult shot to return. This interference is difficult to see from the usual camera angle but the overhead camera shows it more clearly. Therefore, the decision is yes let.

 

Call of the Week 4.17.20

What is your call?
260 votes
Call of the Week 4.17.20 Answer & Explanation
YES LET
This decision focuses on player movement both on and off the ball. Sherbini hits a good shot to the front court along the wall. Tayeb is stretched trying to reach it. The issue is that as Sherbini is moving away from the ball after she strikes it, she moves directly to the center of the court and does not turn her body to allow access to her opponent. Therefore the decision is a let.

 

Call of the Week 4.10.20

What is your call?
269 votes
Call of the Week 4.10.20 Answer & Explanation

NO LET

Referees look at 3 things when making a decision; the incoming player, the outgoing player and the ball. This decision involves all three.

Coll hits a cross court shot but leaves it loose in the middle of the court. Dessouky is in a position to volley and takes a step forward to do so. He drives the ball to the back of the court where the first bounce is just beyond the back of the service box. The second bounce is at the back glass. Once Dessouky makes contact he makes every effort to clear. To retrieve the ball, Coll chooses a path that is in front of his opponent, but the ball is going to the back. By the time Coll would have been able to hit the ball, it is past him and then bounces twice towards the back of the court. Coll would therefore not have been able to retrieve the ball and the decision is No Let.